MEEX Speaker

BROUWER, Kim, PharmD, PhD

BROUWER, Kim, PharmD, PhD

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Dr. Brouwer is Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, and Kenan Distinguished Professor in the School of Pharmacy and Curriculum in Toxicology at UNC-Chapel Hill. She received her BS in Pharmacy from Oregon State University, PharmD/Residency training and a PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences/Pharmacokinetics from the University of Kentucky (UK) College of Pharmacy, and postdoctoral training in Pharmacology/Drug Metabolism in the UK College of Medicine prior to joining the UNC faculty. Dr. Brouwer directs an NIH-funded research program focused on hepatobiliary drug disposition, hepatic transport proteins, and development/refinement of in vitro models to predict in vivo hepatic drug disposition, drug interactions, and hepatotoxicity. Dr. Brouwer was founding Director of the UNC Pharmacokinetics/Pharmacodynamics Fellowship Program and is Co-PI of an NIH-funded Postdoctoral T32 Training Program in Clinical Pharmacology. She has mentored 40 clinical pharmacology fellows, 25 postdoctoral fellows/visiting scholars, 34 doctoral students, 23 undergraduate/honors students, and published >200 research papers, reviews and book chapters. Dr. Brouwer is co-inventor of B-CLEAR®, an in vitro method to assess hepatobiliary disposition that correlates with in vivo data, and is co-founder of Qualyst Transporter Solutions, a UNC spin-off company. She is a member of the International Transporter Consortium Steering Committee, the ASCPT Board of Directors, and she is a member of the following editorial advisory boards: Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, CPT Pharmacometrics & Systems Pharmacology, Clinical and Translational Science, and the AAPS Journal. She served as a member of the NIH Pharmacology Study Section (1998-2002), the NIH Quantitative and Systems Pharmacology Working Group (2010-2012), and co-Chair of the NICHD Pediatric Transporters Working Group (2012-2015). Dr. Brouwer was recognized as an AAPS Fellow in 1998 and received the 2001 PhRMA Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmaceutics. In 2009, Dr. Brouwer was named a Kenan Distinguished Professor, one of the highest honors bestowed on UNC faculty.