Meet the Experts: Transporter Webinar Series Continue

October 02, 2020

We are delighted to announce the next Webinar in the SOLVO Biotechnology Meet the Experts Transporter Webinar Series:

Drug Transporters in Human Stem Cells

8 October, 2020

Presenter: Balázs Sarkadi PhD, MD, Head of Research Group, Research Centre for Natural Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
Time: 8 am (PDT), 11 am (EDT), 4 pm (GMT), 5 pm (CET)

Summary of the presentation: Human stem cells and their tissue derivatives are increasingly applied in advanced medical therapies, as well as in in vitro pharmacological and toxicological studies. Drug development, based on the application of human stem cell preparations may provide more appropriate and less expensive screening systems than animal models, thus are proposed to at least partially replace the use of experimental animals. In this regard, specific human cellular disease models, corresponding to alterations in developmental, metabolic, or signaling pathways, are especially useful in pharmacological studies. Genetically engineered stem cells, expressing fluorescence- or luminescence-based reporter constructs, greatly promote high-content or high-throughput drug screening. The expression of drug transporters is highly variable in the different stem cell preparations, and human pluripotent stem cells practically do not express any of the transporters involved in drug metabolism. However, directed and efficient stem cell differentiation allows the production of specific cardiac, neural, liver, or other cell types, resembling their in vivo human counterparts and allowing a direct examination of the function or drug-sensitivity of selected human drug transporters. In this presentation, examples of human pluripotent stem-cell derived cell preparations, also containing fluorescent reporter constructs to facilitate drug screening, are demonstrated.

Please click here to watch the previous webinars on the SOLVO website!

Please click here to register for the webinar!

 


Previous entry: Transporter Webinar Series Continue


More News

Read all news in the archive